Back to News

Creek Show 2017 Dates & Participating Artists Announced

Waller Creek Conservancy is pleased to announce that Creek Show 2017 will return to Waller Creek on November 10-18. Creek Show, now in its fourth year, spans nine nights and includes six light-based, site-specific art installations, which will be installed on Waller Creek between 5th and 8th Streets. The community is invited to walk along Waller Creek to view the works of art designed to bring attention to the future revitalization and transformation of Waller Creek into a series of urban parks.

The event has grown in popularity each year and the Conservancy received a record number of requests from designers about how to participate. In response, the Conservancy opened a Call for Ideas for the first time this year. Supporting and showcasing local talent has always been one of the primary objectives of Creek Show and to this end, being based in Austin remains a requirement for selection. The selection committee was thrilled to receive 47 submissions that demonstrated the diverse array of artistic disciplines found in our community.

After thoughtful deliberation, the committee selected six installations that are sure to surprise and delight attendees. The Conservancy would like to thank every submitting team for their interest in Waller Creek and their support of Creek Show. The Conservancy would also like to thank the selection committee for devoting time and attention to the process.

Installation: No Lifeguard on Duty
Asakura Robinson
Eric Leshinsky (lead)
Colter Sonneville
Meghan Skornia
Wenjie Zhao

Installation: Night Garden
Daniel Woodroffe (lead)
Kim Harding
Shiva Jabarnia
Ethan Primm
Kevin Sullivan

Installation: Blind Spot
Two+ Collaborative
Elizabeth Farrell (co-lead)
Clare van Montfrans, Assoc. AIA (co-lead)

Installation: fotan FABLE
HA Architecture
Jamie Crawley, AIA (lead)
Ryan Campbell, Assoc. AIA
Manuel Gonzales
E. P. (Bill) Hamilton III
Ricardo Maga-Rojas, Assoc. AIA
Brad McCorkle, Assoc. AIA

Installation: Ephemeral Suspension
PATHOS + Touch To
Brandon Cuffy (co-lead)
Francisca Aroso (co-lead)
Aaron Upshaw

Installation: Submerge
Davey McEathron Architecture + Studio Lumina + Drophouse
Davey McEathron, AIA (lead)
Christina Brown
Eric Dethamphaivan, Assoc. AIA
Christian Klein
Hunter Tipps, Assoc. AIA

Meredith Bossin
Director of Programming of Waller Creek Conservancy

Louis Grachos
Executive Director of The Contemporary Austin

Chris Mattsson
Waller Creek Conservancy Board Member and The Contemporary Austin Board Member

Carla Nickerson
Visual Artist, Vocalist, Actor, and Community Engagement Specialist for Austin Convention Center Department

Dharmesh Patel
Visual Artist, Architect, and Creek Show 2016 Designer

Ingrid Spencer
Artistic Director of Creek Show and Executive Director of AIA Austin

Melba Whatley
Creator of Creek Show, Waller Creek Conservancy Board President and The Contemporary Austin Board Member

For more info, visit

Interested in sponsoring Creek Show 2017? Contact Lucy White at for more information.

Photos: Creek Show 2017 Artist Renderings